Corpus Christi Primary School


Curriculum in the Early Years Foundation Stage

Throughout the Nursery and Reception, we follow the statutory framework for EYFS, supported by non-statutory guidance set out in a document called Development Matters in the Early Years Foundation Stage.


There are four themes that underpin all the guidance in the EYFS:

A Unique Child + Positive Relationships + Enabling Environments = Learning and Development

We also look for and encourage the development of the Characteristics of Effective Learning (CoEL), which thread through all areas of learning and support children to be effective and motivated learners. 


The EYFS is divided into 2 sections, prime areas and specific areas. 

  •  At Corpus Christi, we plan daily lessons and activities around these subjects. We set up areas of the classroom known as continuous provision. This is where our children spend the majority of their day. The areas are carefully set up to engage the children in appropriate learning for their age and interests. 

  • At the end of the Reception year, there are 17 Early Learning Goals (ELG'S) which are part of these areas of learning. If a child achieves this by the end of their Reception year then they are said to be working at the expected level. 
  • At Corpus Christi, we have a Nursery class and two Reception classes. The two Reception classes plan their activities and areas together to ensure children are given the same opportunities. Please see their individual class pages for more details.   

Nursery Curriculum Overview  

Nursery Long Term Plan 

Reception Curriculum Overview 

Reception Long Term Plan 

EYFS Policy